Skip to content

May TIF

May 29, 2008

The challenge for this month was “What do you call yourself and why?” and I sort of cheated by using the label ‘Contemporary Quilter’. I say cheated because it’s only an approximation to what I feel I am – it probably better describes what I’d like to be!!! So in putting this month’s piece together I decided to show ‘what I am’ by using my favourite colour combination and my favourite machine stitches.  I don’t know how clearly it shoes in the photo but the cream area is pebble quilted, I find this a very relaxing way to fill an area.

I had intended to piece this in several sections but so liked the sketch when just the first two lines were drawn that it hasn’t changed! This also reflects what I am – I’ve definitely got a ‘less is more’ mentality! I love the embellished and layered work that people make but can’t do it myself, though it isn’t for lack of trying!

I’d intended to call this quilt ‘Elemental’ but have recently discovered that this is theme for the QGBI challenge at FOQ this year, which I’m not entering!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2008 8:26 pm

    I couldn’t see the image here, but then I saw it on the TIF challenge blog – I really like the strong lines and the clarity of this – definitely less is more. Elemental is a great name for it.

  2. June 10, 2008 5:21 pm

    I don’t see any images on this posting either……. but it’s fine on your other blog.

Leave a Reply

  • counter

